The car was packed and Monday morning saw me set off up the Silver City Highway towards Broken Hill.  With warnings about kangaroos on the road ringing in  my ears, I was prepared for a trip that, although not all that far, would be tiring because of having to be constantly alert for animals on the road.

I was not prepared for the feral goats.  My last trip to Broken Hill (to and from Adelaide) had sightings of emus, the odd bedraggled sheep and a couple of ‘roos off in the distance.  There is a section of the Silver City Highway where the feral goats are just everywhere! Luckily I made the trip with no incidents… the goats stayed clear.

Feral goats

Feral goats

We had heard much in the press about the dust storm that blanketed Sydney but I had heard nothing about the impact elsewhere.  Passing through the path of the storm on the way north, I had noted a stretch of  forest where the trees were smashed, uprooted and tossed about.

Broken Hill's Main street

Broken Hill's Main street

My host in Broken Hill showed me the local papers from the previous week with the pictures and reports on the day that turned completely black in Broken Hill.  Storm damage had flattened five pylons in the main electricity transmission line to Broken Hill and the town was running on emergency power supplied by a diesel generator from the mines.

It was necessary to truck 24,000 litres of diesel fuel daily from Adelaide in order to keep the town powered up!  There had been miners trapped underground in mines but successfully rescued. I had known nothing of this before I reached the town….it never ceases to amaze me how much that happens in our country we never hear about because new services are so city-centric.

