For the 8 days I was staying in Broken Hill, I was staying in a restored Broken Hill style worker’s cottage.

Wilyama Cottage

Willyama Cottage

These old cottages are dotted throughout the town, on odd shaped blocks, tucked down narrow lanes and alleys.  They are clad on the exterior with ripple iron with the front walls and verandas often presenting a different ‘face’ to the street.

This little cottage had many of its original features and had been treated to a most sympathetic restoration acknowledged by the Historical Council in Broken Hill.

One of the most notable things about the Hill was the gardens….despite the heat and dust and restricted amounts of water, the gardens are lush and colourful.

I spotted a rare sight these days……

Something I haven't seen for a long time....a hose with a sprinkler attached laid out across GREEN lawn

Something I haven't seen for a long time....a hose with a sprinkler attached laid out across GREEN lawn.

